Dickhaut Library

Summer Hours: Monday -Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Library Circulation Desk - (740) 362-3450

library@mtso.edu

Your student ID also serves as your library card

        The barcode is your login password

Direct access to My Account login screen

Enter your name (Last, First)
Enter the barcode on the back of your student ID

To access your library account while browsing the Library Catalog, click the link to My Account in the upper right hand corner of the catalog.

The screen will display all material checked out, on hold at the library, and the status of requested material.
Select Checked Out in the My Details box to view all borrowed material.
PLEASE NOTE:  Interlibrary Loan (material not requested through OPAL or OhioLINK) will not be displayed.

Material can be renewed through My Account as long as no other patron has placed a hold on it.

Questions?
Please contact the circulation desk for assistance. 740-362-3450.  Thank You.

Items are held at the circulation desk for 2 weeks.

Item request limits:

• Faculty and Staff
  15 items at a time through OPAL & OhioLINK
• Students
  10 items at a time through OPAL and OhioLINK

MTSO Book collection loan period:

• Faculty and Staff
  90 days with 3 renewals unless a hold is placed.
• Students
  21 days with 4 renewals unless a hold is placed.

OPAL & OhioLINK Book collection loan period:

• Faculty & Staff
  42 days with 6 renewals unless a hold is placed.
  PLEASE NOTE:  Faculty and Staff accounts will be locked when borrowed materials are kept past the maximum number of renewals.
• Students
  21 days with 6 renewals unless a hold is placed.

MTSO media collection loan period:

• 14 days with 3 renewals unless a hold is placed.

OPAL & OhioLINK media collections loan period:

• 7 days with 3 renewals.

You will receive a series of overdue notices before fines begin to accrue. 

Overdue fines for MTSO material:

• On the day that fines accrue the do so at the rate of $0.25 per day back to the original date due.
• Replacement cost: $75.00 + a $50.00 processing fee

Overdue fines for OPAL & OhioLINK material:

• $0.50 per day
• $50.00  if late 30 or more days
• BILLED items (overdue 30 days) $125.00 + added fines or fee determined by the owning library.

PLEASE NOTE:
Returning an overdue or Billed item will not eliminate fines or fees.

Lose of library privileges can occur if cost of overdue fines exceeds:

• $50.00 for Faculty, Students & Staff

Borrowing privileges are restored upon payment of the fine balance.

How to pay for fines:

-Fines can be paid for at the circulation desk (Cash or Check only) - receipt provided
-Fines can also be paid at the Business Office located in Werner Hall 103
   Mon. thru Fri., 8:30 am to 4:30 pm  (Lunch 12 to 1)

Questions?
Please contact the library circulation desk at 740-362-3450.  Thank You.

The John W. Dickhaut Library, named for MTSO's founding president, is the school's primary information and research resource.  With more than 130,000 volumes onsite, the library offers borrowers access to 48 million volumes thanks to its membership in the Ohio Private Academic (OPAL) and OhioLINK consortia.  It also provides access to roughly 30,000 online and print journals.

Printing, Copying & Scanning

Located on the main level of the library.
Costs:

• $0.05 per page for Black & White copies
• $0.15 per page for Color copies
• FREE Scanning to email

Student/Faculty & Staff use:

• Your account has a set cash amount provided at the beginning of the academic through the MTSO Business office.
• User name -  is your MTSO email (exclude @mtso.edu)
• Your password - At the start of your first year, a unique numeric code is sent to your MTSO email account.
• Problems with your email account are to be addressed by IT support:support@mtso.edu

PLEASE NOTE: Adjunct Faculty  - please go to Gault to have copies made.

Non MTSO Patrons (included MTSO Alumni, Clergy, Researchers and the General Public)
We recommend you bring your own USB drive to download full text material you may find while using the library's computer workstations.

• Obtain access code at the circulation desk
• Cash payment at the circulation desk.
• Free Scanning to your personal email account. 
• Scanning from copier to USB not available.

Computer Workstations

Dickhaut Library has three computer workstations located on the main level of the library.

The computers are configuration with:

• MicroSoft Windows
• MicroSoft Office
• Internet Explorer
• Adobe Acrobat pdf reader
• Networked printing (color printing available)

MTSO ALUMNI
Access to Electronic Resources
ATLAS for ALUM - Please contact the library's circulation desk for further information regarding access to this database for MTSO Alumni. 

Library Card - your student ID continues to serve as your "Alumni" Library Card.  However if you no longer have your student ID, a new library card can be issued to you at the circulation desk.  Please bring a photo ID and be prepared to fill out a short application form.  There is no fee involved with renewing your alumni status.  Alumni status is verified through our registrar's office.
Borrowing privileges: 
MTSO Books - 21 days with 4 renewals
MTSO Media - 14 days with 3 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Books - 21 days with 6 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Media - 7 days with 3 renewals
Access Limitations:
 - No renewals available if a hold is existing on an item.
 - No holds can be placed on OPAL or OhioLINK items.
 - No Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services beyond OPAL or OhioLINK.
 - Course & Permanent Reserves (In-Library use only.)
Item Request Limits:
10 OPAL/OhioLINK library library items (no more than 5 items from OhioLINK libraries that are not OPAL members)
Fines and Fees:
- Courtesy emails are sent out prior to the due date.
- Overdue MTSO material: $0.25/day retroactive to original due date
- Overdue OPAL/OhioLINK material: $0.50/day; $50.00 if late 30 or more days; BILLED (overdue 30 days) $125.00
PLEASE NOTE:
Returning an overdue item will not eliminate fines or fees.

Questions?
Please contact the library circulation desk at 740-362-3450.  Thank You.

CLERGY

Regional members of the clergy residing in Delaware County or any of the contiguous counties: Franklin, Knox, Licking, Marion, Morrow, and Union have free access to the Dickhaut Library collection.

If you do not reside in any of the contiguous counties, please see the information about Visitors.

If you are an Alum of MTSO, please see the information for MTSO Alumni.

Library Card
No Fee is associated with Clergy from the contiguous counties.
A paper library card with a barcode is issued to you at the time of your visit to the library.
Borrowing privileges: 
MTSO Books - 21 days with 4 renewals
MTSO Media - 14 days with 3 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Books - 21 days with 6 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Media - 7 days with 3 renewals
Access Limitations:
 - No renewals available if a hold is existing on an item.
 - No holds can be placed on OPAL or OhioLINK items.
 - No Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services beyond OPAL or OhioLINK.
 - Course & Permanent Reserves (In-Library use only.)
Item Request Limits:
10 OPAL/OhioLINK library library items (no more than 5 items from OhioLINK libraries that are not OPAL members)
Fines and Fees:
- Courtesy emails are sent out prior to the due date.
- Overdue MTSO material: $0.25/day retroactive to original due date
- Overdue OPAL/OhioLINK material: $0.50/day; $50.00 if late 30 or more days; BILLED (overdue 30 days) $125.00
PLEASE NOTE:
Returning an overdue item will not eliminate fines or fees.

Questions?
Please contact the library circulation desk at 740-362-3450.  Thank You.

VISITORS

Library Card
A paper library card with a barcode is issued to you at the time of your visit to the library.
Borrowing privileges: 
MTSO Books - 21 days with 4 renewals
MTSO Media - 14 days with 3 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Books - 21 days with 6 renewals
OPAL/OhioLINK Media - 7 days with 3 renewals
Access Limitations:
 - No renewals available if a hold is existing on an item.
 - No holds can be placed on OPAL or OhioLINK items.
 - No Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services beyond OPAL or OhioLINK.
 - Course & Permanent Reserves (In-Library use only.)
Item Request Limits:
10 OPAL/OhioLINK library library items (no more than 5 items from OhioLINK libraries that are not OPAL members)
Fines:
- Courtesy emails are sent out prior to the due date.
- Overdue MTSO material: $0.25/day retroactive to original due date
- Overdue OPAL/OhioLINK material: $0.50/day; $50.00 if late 30 or more days; BILLED (overdue 30 days) $125.00
PLEASE NOTE:
Returning an overdue item will not eliminate fines or fees.
Fees:
Lifetime membership fee- $30.00 (Check or Cash only)
Printing/Copying  - Please see: Library Technology.

Questions?
Please contact the library circulation desk at 740-362-3450.  Thank You.

FOOD & DRINK in the Library

Following the guidelines below helps to insure the health and safety of all library users and a long life for library collections, furnishings, and equipment. Library users are asked to be considerate of others and to avoid consuming food items that create messes, strong odors, and/or noise.

Acceptable food: “Snack size” containers of chips, cookies, candy, and other snack foods; small amounts of finger foods (e.g., small size fruits and vegetables, dried fruits and nuts, string cheese); candy bars, granola bars, power bars, etc.; and other snack foods that are not messy and lack a distracting odor.

Unacceptable food: Hot entrees, e.g., burgers, French fries, pizza, noodles, sub sandwiches, burritos, tacos, soup, large size bags or packages of chips, crackers, cookies, doughnuts, salad, etc., and other foods that are messy and emit a distracting odor.

Beverages in covered, spill-proof containers, or capped bottles and snacks are permitted except:

• at library workstations.
• in other areas as posted.

Please be considerate of other library users. We therefore ask that you act responsibly when consuming food and drink in the library. Please bring all food garbage to the lobby to discard on your way out of the library. Food garbage should not go into the trashcans that are in the library. Please collect up and bring out your trash.

Please clean up after yourself. Help us keep work surfaces clean. Please report accidental spills to the circulation desk as soon as possible so that they can be addressed quickly.

Library staff has final approval of any sort of food, beverage, or container allowed in the Dickhaut Library, and reserve the right to exclude any food, beverage, or container for any reason. Users disregarding the Food and Drink Policy will be asked to leave the .ibrary.

The classrooms on the lower or ground level of the Dickhaut Library are not subject to the above restrictions. However, anyone eating in those classrooms during a scheduled class is expected to dispose of food wastes in the large receptacles provided.

While we appreciate the generosity of those who wish to donate materials, Dickhaut Library is currently not accepting gift books. Other potential recipients for book donations include the following:

Better World Books

Local rural churches

Senior living facilities

Local used book dealers

Local public library

In order to help develop our curriculum-specific collections, especially electronic books, financial donations are always welcome.

The Ohio Private Academic Libraries (OPAL) serves 25 colleges in Ohio, one of which is MTSO.

OPAL's Frequently Asked Questions page can answer many of your questions regarding use of the OPAL catalog.

Access the  MTSO Library Catalog (the OPAL Catalog)

Start your search with the Dickhaut Library collection.

To broaden your search, select All OPAL Libraries from the dropdown menu.

Research further by accessing the OhioLINK (Other Academic Libraries in Ohio) and SearchOhio (Public Libraries in Ohio) catalogs.

Select and request materials.  The barcode on the back of your student ID is your library card #.

Question?
Please contact the circulation desk at 740-362-3450 for assistance.  Thank You.

Before making an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request:
For Books: Please check the OPAL or OhioLINK Library catalogs to determine if it is available.
If it is, you may request the item on your own.
For Articles: Please check the OhioLINK E-Journal Finder for full text and search the library catalog for print version to make copies from.

What may be requested:
Books and other items not owned by Dickhaut Library and not available through the Library catalogs may be requested.
Exception: Dickhaut Library will not request course textbooks for students.

Submit a Request:
Please email the following information regarding your request to ill@mtso.edu:

• Your Name & Phone number
• Title of the Book/Journal (Include the article title)
• Author/Editor
• Vol., Issue, Date/Edition
• Publisher
• ISBN/ISSN
• OCLC#
• Date needed
• Additional information such as: color copy, illustrations, etc.

Time it takes for materials arrive:
Requests may take at least ten working days to arrive at Dickhaut Library.You will be notified by e-mail when the Library has received the book.

Costs:
Dickhaut Library tries to find libraries that lend materials free of charge. However, in rare cases, a lending library may charge a fee to loan an item from its collection. You will be notified of any fees in advance before a request is submitted.

Please contact the library staff if you have any questions at 740-362-3450. Thank You.

Course Reserves and Permanent Reserves

Course Reserves are materials used for a specific Academic Term and are available to anyone with a Dickhaut Library card.
Permanent Reserves are specific textbooks repeatedly used for Course Reserves and can be used while at the library.

Borrowing Reserves Material:

• The circulation staff will assist with checking out Course Reserve material.
• Located behind the Circulation Desk
• 3 hour loan period - overnight borrowing 1 hour before the library closes.
• From the due date, a 24 hour grace period begins during which a series of over due email notices are sent to you. As of the end of the grace period and the sending of the third overdue notice, fines are levied at $0.20 per day retroactive to the original due date. As the hour 26 following the original due date, fines accrue at a rate of $0.30 per hour for an indefinite period. Item are also considered lost at this point and reach the BILLED status. 
  Please see: MTSO library patrons: "MY Account" box on this Home Page, under the Fines & Fees tab, BILLED items for more information.

Access Course Reserve in the search window of the MTSO Library Catalog.

Type either the Course number (e.g.: HB 510) or the Instructors Last Name (e.g.: Kim)

PLEASE NOTE: All OPAL Libraries will have their instructors and courses listed in the OPAL Catalog.

Call number and status of the item is noted to the right of the title.

Questions?
Please contact the circulation desk 740-362-3450. Thank You.