Skip to main content

Dickhaut Library: Home

J.W. Dickhaut Library - Methodist Theological School in Ohio (MTSO) - 3081 Columbus Pike, Delaware OH 43015 - (740) 362-3450 - library@mtso.edu

Alerts

While the MTSO library is closed, access to the material you need is still available.

The library asks the following from MTSO patrons to ensure you obtain what you need:

-Use the OPAL catalog link to look up books in the MTSO collection to request using ill@mtso.edu and to access ebooks available to MTSO.”
(A direct link to that email can be found in the Using Library Resources box Interlibrary Loan (ILL) tab on the home page - Please note there are instructions regarding what the library staff need to ensure you are obtaining exactly what you want.  All scanned material is sent to your mtso email account as a pdf. - By sending requests to this email address, all library staff are notified and can assist you in a timely manner.

- Send requests for journal articles, book chapters, and Course Reserve chapters also to: ill@mtso.edu. 

-  Searching Journal Finder located in the Quick Links: box may provide you with a downloadable pdf of articles. If not available as full text please proceed by requesting articles as mentioned above.

While the library is closed, books will be delivered to the designated area on campus mentioned in the email sent to the MTSO community by Library Director Paul Burnam.

Please feel free to contact the circulation desk at 740-362-3450 if you have any questions regarding any of the above. A message can be left at the number your call will be return as soon as is possible. 

Thank You.

Quick Links:

More E-Resources:

Highly recommended websites and databases for all MTSO programs.
(Access to selected library resources for a specific MTSO program located via the tabs above)

Using Library Resources:

  • Access to the MTSO library catalog
  • Using the library catalog (OPAL)
  • Accessing & Using E-Books
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service information
  • Course Reserves & Permanent Reserves at the circulation desk.

Go To: More Websites & Databases box in this guide for electronic resources.

The Ohio Private Academic Libraries (OPAL) serves 25 colleges in Ohio, one of which is MTSO.

OPAL's Frequently Asked Questions page can answer many of your questions regarding use of the OPAL catalog.

Access the  MTSO Library Catalog (the OPAL Catalog)

Start your search with the Dickhaut Library collection.

To broaden your search, select All OPAL Libraries from the dropdown menu.

Research further by accessing the OhioLINK (Other Academic Libraries in Ohio) and SearchOhio (Public Libraries in Ohio) catalogs.

Select and request materials.  The barcode on the back of your student ID is your library card #.

Question?
Please contact the circulation desk at 740-362-3450 for assistance.  Thank You.

Before making an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request:
For Books: Please check the OPAL or OhioLINK Library catalogs to determine if it is available.
If it is, you may request the item on your own.
For Articles: Please check the OhioLINK E-Journal Finder for full text and search the library catalog for print version to make copies from.

What may be requested:
Books and other items not owned by Dickhaut Library and not available through the Library catalogs may be requested.
Exception: Dickhaut Library will not request course textbooks for students.

Submit a Request:
Please email the following information regarding your request to ill@mtso.edu:

  • Your Name & Phone number
  • Title of the Book/Journal (Include the article title)
  • Author/Editor
  • Vol., Issue, Date/Edition
  • Publisher
  • ISBN/ISSN
  • OCLC#
  • Date needed
  • Additional information such as: color copy, illustrations, etc.

Time it takes for materials arrive:
Requests may take at least ten working days to arrive at Dickhaut Library.You will be notified by e-mail when the Library has received the book.

Costs:
Dickhaut Library tries to find libraries that lend materials free of charge. However, in rare cases, a lending library may charge a fee to loan an item from its collection. You will be notified of any fees in advance before a request is submitted.

Please contact the library staff if you have any questions at 740-362-3450. Thank You.

Course Reserves and Permanent Reserves

Course Reserves are materials used for a specific Academic Term and are available to anyone with a Dickhaut Library card.
Permanent Reserves are specific textbooks repeatedly used for Course Reserves and can be used while at the library.

Borrowing Reserves Material:

  • The circulation staff will assist with checking out Course Reserve material.
  • Located behind the Circulation Desk
  • 3 hour loan period - overnight borrowing 1 hour before the library closes.
  • From the due date, a 24 hour grace period begins during which a series of over due email notices are sent to you. As of the end of the grace period and the sending of the third overdue notice, fines are levied at $0.20 per day retroactive to the original due date. As the hour 26 following the original due date, fines accrue at a rate of $0.30 per hour for an indefinite period. Item are also considered lost at this point and reach the BILLED status. 
    Please see: MTSO library patrons: "MY Account" box on this Home Page, under the Fines & Fees tab, BILLED items for more information.

Access Course Reserve in the search window of the MTSO Library Catalog.

Type either the Course number (e.g.: HB 510) or the Instructors Last Name (e.g.: Kim)

PLEASE NOTE: All OPAL Libraries will have their instructors and courses listed in the OPAL Catalog.

Call number and status of the item is noted to the right of the title.

Questions?
Please contact the circulation desk 740-362-3450. Thank You.

Hours, Contacts and Maps:

  • Hours of Operation
  • Library Staff contact information
  • Maps (to MTSO, campus and library)

Methodist Theological School in Ohio (MTSO)
3081 Columbus Pike, Delaware OH 43015
Circulation Desk: 740-362-3450

library@mtso.edu

The library is closed until further notice.

Library Circulation Desk - (740) 362-3450

library@mtso.edu

 

 

Research Help:

Helpful resources for:

  • Finding materials
  • Citing your sources
  • Copyright awareness and guide
  • Tutorial on plagiarism.
  • Research consultation request form

Notice: Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction.  One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research."  If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copyright order if, in its judgment, fulfillment or the order would involve violation of copyright law.*

* US. Library of Congress. Copyright Office. Circular 21: Reproduction of Copyrighted Works by Educators and Librarians. Revised Aug. 2014. Accessed 11 Sept. 2014 .

Research consultations may involve assistance with:

  • Narrowing down a topic
  • Finding relevant articles, books, or primary sources
  • Going over the steps of a research project in-depth

Click the link below to access the form:

https://www.mtso.edu/academics/dickhaut-library/research-consultation-request/

J.W. Dickhaut Library - Methodist Theological School in Ohio (MTSO) - 3081 Columbus Pike, Delaware OH 43015 - (740) 362-3450 - library@mtso.edu