LibGuides: Dickhaut Library: Using The Library Catalog

Quick Links

A-Z Databases

Journal Finder Find print and electronic full text journal coverage.

APA PsychINFO

SocINDEX

APA PsycBooks

UMC 2016 Books of Discipline and Resolutions

Citation Style Guides

Overview of the OPAL Catalog

The Ohio Private Academic Libraries (OPAL) serves 25 colleges in Ohio, one of which is MTSO.

OPAL's Frequently Asked Questions page can answer many of your questions regarding use of the OPAL catalog.

Access the MTSO Library Catalog (the OPAL Catalog)

Start your search with the Dickhaut Library collection.

To broaden your search, select All OPAL Libraries from the dropdown menu.

Research further by accessing the OhioLINK (Other Academic Libraries in Ohio) and SearchOhio (Public Libraries in Ohio) catalogs.

Select and request materials. The barcode on the back of your student ID is your library card #.

Question?
Please contact the circulation desk at 740-362-3450 for assistance. Thank You.

More E-Resources:

Highly recommended websites and databases for all MTSO programs.
(Access to selected library resources for a specific MTSO program located via the tabs above)

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) Data on American religion.
Augustine of Hippo Augustine of Hippo (354-430 AD) took great pains to create and project a powerful image of himself beyond the churches and towns where he wrote and taught in Roman north Africa.
Barna Research
Baylor Institute for Studies of Religion
Bible and Interpretation Most current news and interpretations on the Bible.
Center for Barth Studies Information, resources, events, and programs related to the life and work of the Swiss Reformed theologian Karl Barth (1886-1968).
Christian Classics Etheral Library Digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Church in the Southern Black Community Autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials.
Divining America: Religion in American History For teachers of American history regarding the role religion has played in the development of the United States.
ETANA : Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives The history and culture of the ancient Near East.
Faith Communities Today
Gnostic Society Library Gnostic tradition as well as a selection of in-depth audio lectures and brief archive notes designed to orient study of the documents, their sources, and the religious tradition they represent.
Hartford Institute for the Study of Religion Summaries of current religion research by Hartford Institute for Religion Research faculty as well as the research done by other sociologists of religion.
Historic Recordings of MTSO Faculty A class hears about a courageous and historic trip four of their faculty members made to Jackson, Mississippi to integrate a White Methodist church on Easter morning, 1964. Everett Tilson delivers his final sermon prior to retirement. Van Bogard Dunn lectures on Romans, Mark, and Revelation.
Index Verborum: Martin Luther's German Writings Reference guide that accesses over 323 German writings of Martin Luther, from the critical historical period of 1516 through 1525.
Insights into Religion: A Gateway to Resources and Information Websites on religious research,reflection, observations, practice commentary, vocations, education, and strategies for leadership development.
Jewish Roman World of Jesus Website dedicated to the writings of Dr. James Tabor.
National Congregations Study
New Testament Gateway The New Testament Gateway focuses on resources that will be of interest to both scholars and students of the New Testament.
Orion Center - Dead Sea Scrolls Provides many resources for the study of the Scrolls, as well as information about the Center's activities and programs.
Paul Page The Paul Page was founded in 1999 by Mark M. Mattison. A comprehensive one-stop resource on the new perspective on Paul.
Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Pew Research Religion and Public Life Project
Pitts Theology Library Digital Image Archive The Digital Image Archive presents more than 48,000 images of biblical topics.
Public Religion Research Institute
Religious Studies Web Guide (University of Calgary) Focuses on open access resources (bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogs, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion.
Resource UMC
SAGE Stats Features statistical data series created from more than 200,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of interest for U.S. States, counties, cities, metro areas and ZIP codes. Vetted data from multiple sources into the same format, allowing quick download, comparisons and visualizations.
Social Justice Solutions “Social Justice Solutions is a social worker conceived and operated organization born out of the Stony Brook School of Social Welfare’s commitment to active participation in creating a socially just world.”
Synoptic Gospels Primer History of literary analysis of gospels that were originally composed in Greek.
UM Data The United Methodist Church online Directory and Statistics. Contains information regarding churches, pastors, leadership, conferences or other entities. Statistical information and general Church data can be found by selecting Search or Download above.
US Political Stats Bringing together valued content from sources like CQ Roll Call and CQ Press, users will discover a wealth of information on election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators, as well as diverse demographics.
Wabash Center The Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion seeks to enhance and strengthen education in North American theological schools, colleges and universities.
Wesley Center Online A collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan Tradition, theology, Christianity, and the Church of the Nazarene.

APA Books

APA PsychINFO This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Psychological Association. Contains indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. ATLA Serials Plus is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present.

Searching the ATLA Religion Database. Keys to searching the ATLA database effectively.
Brown Judaic Studies Ebooks

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Cambridge Core is a new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. It brings book and journal content together. Cambridge Core provides users with 1 million journal articles and 30,000+ books. Word of caution: Please ignore the 'Login' button in the upper right-hand corner of the Cambridge Core home page.
Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology This link opens in a new window Off campus access requires creating your own login and password.
It contains 2 million words, 4000+ individual entries & 300+ authors from 30+ countries writing on hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today.

De Gruyter Social Justice Ebooks De Gruyter Publishing, along with our partner presses, is making freely available books and journal articles across nine topical areas (De Gruyter, along with our partner presses, is making freely available books and journal articles across nine topical areas(Constitutional Hisory; Dissent, Truth, Ethics; Environmental Studies; Gender Studies; Geo-Politics; Human Rights; Immigration and Urbanism; Islamic Studies; and Leadership) for all students and faculty. Broadening access to this scholarship enables more people to address these issues in an informed manner: it helps us combat false news sources, to consider the nature of truth and ethics, and to understand the struggles of all members of society. for all students and faculty. Broadening access to this scholarship enables more people to address these issues in an informed manner: it helps us combat false news sources, to consider the nature of truth and ethics, and to understand the struggles of all members of society.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888, including over 1,350 active core titles. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc
Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for more than 190 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management and many others.

Feature Films for Education

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Flavius Josephus Online This link opens in a new window Flavius Josephus, the first-century Jewish historian, is unquestionably among the most important writers from classical antiquity. The significance of the works of Josephus as sources for our understanding of biblical history and of the political history of Palestine under Roman rule, can scarcely be overestimated. This is the first comprehensive literary-historical online commentary on the works of Flavius Josephus in English including the Greek text by Niese from the late 19th century.
Jewish Studies Sources This link opens in a new window This rich full-text database offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present.
Journal Finder This link opens in a new window Find resources available from the library's collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Scholarly resources on JSTOR include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources. (Access to MTSO students only)
LGBTQ+ Source LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

Loebolus Loebolus is based on Edwin Donnelly's “Downloebables” , aiming to make all the public domain Loebs more easily downloadable by re-hosting the PDF's directly, without the need to enter CAPTCHA's.
MTSO Quick Search Searches all of the library's databases and catalog in one search of a keyword or phrase.

OhioLINK This link opens in a new window OhioLINK, the Ohio Library and Information Network and its member libraries provide access millions of print and electronic resources to Ohio students.
OhioLINK E-Books This link opens in a new window The Scholarly & Reference E-Book Collection contains electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries for use by Ohio Students.
OhioLINK EJC This link opens in a new window Journal searches by title, subject and publisher.
Open Access Digital Theological Library The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced library discovery cataloging and discovery system, OCLC’s WorldShare, to make content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Orion Center Bibliography This link opens in a new window Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls

Oxford Research Encyclopedias With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.

RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. Topics include world religions, major denominations, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 DMin, DMiss and DEdMin programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools.

SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection
SBL Seminar Papers Full text of the Society of Biblical Literature's annual meeting seminar papers from 1971-2003.

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window Full Text of sociology & sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Theology on the Web To make high quality theological material available freely throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries. This is achieved by: Digitising and uploading in co-operation with authors and publishers, rare and out-of-print theology books and articles. Over 40,000 articles are now available for free download. Providing detailed bibliographies for Seminary level students and ministers. Providing a single cross-linked resource made up of seven websites.
Transparent Language Online Transparent Language Online Radically better language learning, in one complete experience. Smart Insight and Review Your learned vocab items chart tells you how many words and phrases you've learned and when it's time to review. Practice Activities Want to learn a little bit of language without taking a course? Practice listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills with learning material from any lesson using over a dozen challenging activities. Core Skill-Building Activities Give yourself the most robust program that builds all four core skills: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Enhanced Compatibility Optimized for touchscreen use on iPads® and Android™ tablets, Transparent Language Online works on virtually any Internet-connected device or computer.
Very Short Introductions Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Teaching Religion as Anit-Racism Education “American Academy of Religion Committee on Teaching and Learning semiannually in Religious Studies News does a ‘Spotlight on Teaching’ which focuses on teaching and learning around a particular theme, concern, or setting.”