Native American Heritage Month (November)

The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums is dedicated to preserving and advancing the language, history, culture, and lifeways of indigenous peoples.

This digital archival experience contains historical photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA). Newly digitized BIA photographs will be added to this guide as they are added to the National Archives Catalog.

The Center for Native American and Indigenous Research promotes innovative uses of the American Philosophical Society Library’s collections that benefit indigenous communities and academic scholarship.

Mujerista Symposium - Spring 2022; March 31, 2022. Dr. Cecilia Titizano is Bolivian of Aymara descent. She holds a PhD in philosophical theology from the Graduate Theological Union (GTU) in Berkeley, California. For many years, Titizano has worked in the area of international development, among Quechua and Aymara communities. She is part-time faculty in the Theology and Religious Studies Department at the University of San Francisco, where she teaches Indigenous Cosmologies and Theologies and Ethics in the Indigenous Spiritual Traditions. Titizano serves in Memoria Indígena as an advisory board member and is part of the Comunidad de Sabias y Teólogas Indígenas del Abya Yala (COSTIAY). Hosted by the Princeton Theological Seminary Office of Multicultural Relations and En Conjunto

The official dictionary of Lenape - the language of the Delaware Tribe. This website is an online learning tool designed to support Lenape language education through its expansive dictionary and language lessons. Its primary function is translating words, sentences, and phrases from English to Lenape or vice versa.

Rev. Dr. Randy Woodley (Cherokee) in conversation with Emily Ling

"NAIITS (formerly North American Institute for Indigenous Theological Studies) is one of two divisions of Indigenous Pathways, a non-sectarian organization dedicated to working together with the Indigenous community to develop and articulate Indigenous perspectives in theology and practice."

Provides educators and students with new perspectives on Native American history and cultures.

November is National American Indian Heritage Month. The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.

Exhibitions include "Our Universes: Traditional Knowledge Shapes Our World" (September 21, 2004–Late 2021) and "Nation to Nation: Treaties Between the United States and American Indian Nations" (September 21, 2014–2021) among several others

Exhibitions include "Stretching the Canvas: Eight Decades of Native Painting" (November 16, 2019–Fall 2021) and Infinity of Nations: Art and History in the Collections of the National Museum of the American Indian, among others

The exhibit Native Narratives: The Representation of Native Americans in Public Broadcasting explores how Native American peoples and cultures have been represented both in non-Native-produced and Native-created public broadcasting programs in the American Archive of Public Broadcasting.

IllumiNative is a non-profit organization whose "mission is to build power for Native peoples by amplifying contemporary Native voices, stories, and issues to advance justice, equity, and self-determination."

The guide "Tribal Nations and the United States: An Introduction" developed by the National Congress of American Indians seeks to provide a basic overview of the history and underlying principles of tribal governance.